Peanut Butter Pumpkin Vegan Dog Treats

6 Oct

Dog tested, dog mom approved!

Good day, MoFos and friends! Here’s one for the dog lovers out there! I’ve been meaning to take on vegan dog treats for a time and I figured, well the Vegan Month of Food is as good a time as any. My little vegan superhero pooch, Chicken — yes that’s his real name, named after the bird in it’s living state — really likes pumpkin and the only thing he likes more than pumpkin is peanut butter so, I thought: why not give the little man the best of both worlds?

This may not be human comfort food, but in the spirit of veganism — here’s to the desires and comfort of my favorite little nonhuman friend! These treats are so easy to make and Chicken absolutely loves them! Hopefully, you know of a four-legged, bushy tailed someone who will love them too!

Ingredients:
(makes about 25 small cookies)

2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1 cup peanut butter (creamy or crunchy)
1/2 cup pumpkin puree (canned or fresh — not pumpkin pie mix)
1 cup non-dairy milk (I used almond)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 375 F and place  a rack in the center of the oven. Lightly grease a baking sheet. Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the flour and baking powder. Set aside.

In another bowl combine the  peanut butter, pumpkin, and non-dairy milk. Add the flour mixture, in small batches and mix well.

Knead the dough two to three times on a lightly floured surface. With a rolling pin, roll the dough out about 1/4 inch in thickness and cut out shapes with a cookie cutter. I used the rim of a shot glass.

Bake for 20 – 25 minutes until lightly browned. Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack. Store in an airtight container.

All smiles for cookies!

13 Responses to “Peanut Butter Pumpkin Vegan Dog Treats”

  1. Kelly October 6, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Awesome! I know my newly adopted doggie loves peanut butter, and I bet she’d love pumpkin. I’ll have to make these for her!

    • Melody M. October 8, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

      Aww, I hope she will too! Adopting animals is seriously good vegan activism. Congratulations on finding your new furry friend and family member!

  2. Sarah October 6, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    We shouldn’t forget to make delicious treats for furry friends!

    • Melody M. October 8, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

      Very true! Thanks for stopping by and taking a look, Sara! 🙂

  3. Jenny October 9, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    My kids have been wanting to cook so much lately, I never thought about letting them lose making dog treats. They would love it, and so would their four legged sisters.

    • Melody M. October 10, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

      Aww, I love seeing kids in the kitchen! I hope your kids have fun making these and that their four legged sisters have fun eating the treats! 🙂

  4. Diannr Fuller August 26, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Hi Melody,
    Thank you for posting this recipe. We have 7 yr old Bichon Frise’, Missy, who has developed food allergies. I came across your recipe and modified it using 1/2 C Oat Flour & 1/2 C of rolled oats and for the non-dairy milk I used So Delicious Coconut milk. I will be rolling & cutting them out and baking them this evening and hope that she likes them. I tasted the dough and it tasted pretty good.
    Dianne

    • Melody M. September 26, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

      Hi Dianne! You’re very welcome! Your substitutions sound great! I hope Missy liked them! 🙂

  5. nikki December 21, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    these are in the oven as i type, and i got over 50 small treats! they don’t look much smaller than your picture, so i’m not sure what happened… but more is a good thing! i don’t have dogs anymore myself, but these will be christmas gifts for my brother’s and friend’s dogs. 🙂 thanks for the recipe!

    • Melody M. January 13, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

      You’re welcome! I hope they loved them! 😀

  6. micritterchitter February 6, 2014 at 8:32 pm #

    We tried your recipe and all of the dogs loved it! We hope you don’t mind that we shared our success with your recipe on our blog. Don’t worry, we gave you all the credit!

  7. dog bakeries March 19, 2014 at 4:57 pm #

    Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you so much, However I am having problems with your RSS.

    I don’t understand why I cannot join it. Is there anybody else getting
    identical RSS problems? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanks!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trick or Treat: Moria says, “Treat, please!” « la vida vegga - October 31, 2011

    […] used this recipe from Melody over at Little House on the Vegan Prairie; it features pumpkin and peanut butter and is […]

Leave a Reply

