Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

3 Oct

Alright, MoFo‘ers, recipe number three features the all-time Fall favorite: pumpkin. I went through hell and high water to get my hands on canned pumpkin just to make this. It begs the question, is there a shortage of pumpkin this year? The stores were wiped clean! I had to seek out this golden gem from a small, relatively unfrequented natural foods store. I know what you’re thinking. “Buy a pumpkin and make your own damned puree!” I would, but I just don’t have the patience to cut and especially peel my own pumpkin. I’m going to have to get over it if I’m going to want to make use of this fabulous gourd.

Ok, so let’s talk quickbreads! We only need to say that they’re like cake without the frosting. And for me, that’s pretty much heaven. Up until I had pumpkin bread, I didn’t think I’d ever love anything more than banana bread. I think it has to do with the fact that pumpkin spices are just crazy delicious and, at least for me, they evoke a certain sort of longing for and comfort from Autumn. I think that’s why a lot of places exploit ‘pumpkin spice this’ and ‘pumpkin spice that’ around this time of year. Doesn’t it just make you want to throw on a flannel and go for a foliage hike? Is that just a New England thing? Maybe.

Anyway, this quickbread is all sorts of fabulous. It’s easy to make, it’s moist, but not too soft and cake-like, as a quickbread should be. And it’s heavy on the pumpkin flavor (just like I like it). It also features the almighty chocolate chip, which only heightens its awesomeness by giving it a sweet chocolate crunch. I like the way the orange color and chocolate chips contrast one another — it’s very Halloween-y. This bread went over so well with my family that there was barely any left for me. My only regret is not having made two loaves!


Ingredients:
makes one 9 inch loaf

1 and 3/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda (cruelty free, please!)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp allspice
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup Earth Balance butter (any vegan margarine)
1 and 1/2 cups organic/vegan sugar
3 flax eggs (3 tbsp ground flax seeds + 6 tbsp water)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup canned pumpkin
1/3 cup almond milk (or other non-dairy milk)
3/4 cup chopped walnuts or pecans
3/4 cups vegan chocolate chips

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Lightly grease a 9 inch x 5 inch bread pan and set it aside.

In a small bowl, whisk together the ground flax seeds and water until you get a thick consistency. Set aside.

In a medium to large bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, spices, and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar with an electric mixer until you have a consistency that looks like lumpy sand. Add in the flax eggs and vanilla extract and beat until smooth. Add in the canned pumpkin and almond milk and beat again until thoroughly combined. Add in the flour and spices mixture in 3 parts, beating well in between each addition. Fold in the nuts and chocolate chips.

Scoop the mixture into the prepared bread pan and bake for 60 – 75 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Allow the bread to cool in the pan, on a wire rack, for about 10 minutes. Then, very carefully invert the bread pan on to your hand and place it on the wire rack. Allow to cool for an additional 10 minutes.

17 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread”

  1. Colline October 3, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    I think the chocolate chips will encourage my girls to try a slice of this!

    • Melody M. October 3, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      I think so too! That’s why I added them! I have many friends who have young children and I thought chocolate chips might make pumpkin bread more appealing!

  2. Cheryl October 3, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    This looks great, I can’t wait to try it! Just a note to the author…you don’t need to peel a pumpkin to harvest its flesh. Just get a pie/sugar pumpkin, cut it in half, scoop out the innards, and bake on a cookie sheet at 350 until soft. Cool it, scoop out the flesh, and puree in a food processor. If the pumpkin is too watery, put it in a colander to drip some of the water out!

    • Melody M. October 3, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

      Thanks for the tips, Cheryl! I wanted to remove a step from this recipe, so making my own pumpkin puree was too time consuming and I feel like it’s less convenient for most people on the go. I thought to just cut a pumpkin in half and then roast it, but I didn’t want “roasted” pumpkin either. I’ll definitely try your tip for future recipes! I’m sure it’s cheaper than canned pumpkin and makes loads more! 🙂

  3. Carrie October 3, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    Yum! Chocolate + pumpkin…what’s not to like??

  4. caroline m. October 3, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    i love fall because of all the pumpkin recipes. this one’s definitely near the top of my ‘to make’ list!!

    • Melody M. October 3, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

      Me too, Caroline! I hope you like it!

  5. meg October 3, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    I’m always confused when recipes call for using an electric mixer. I don’t have one and don’t intend to buy one anytime soon. Is it necessary, and if so, why?

    • Melody M. October 3, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

      Hi Meg,

      You don’t have to use an electric mixer. I have one of the handheld ones — I think it was only $20. I just find that it saves time and is a lot less work. When you’re creaming butter with sugar, it just makes the job a whole lot easier. I’ve been in situations where I didn’t have an electric mixer and wanted to do this step and just let the butter soften a little over room temp and then beat it, with the sugar, with a rubber spatula or wooden spoon. It can surely be done so, no need to buy one if you don’t have one already!

      • meg October 4, 2011 at 9:26 am #

        Okay thanks, that’s what I suspected. 😉 Will be making this on Wednesday, and if it turns out great there’ll be an extra for my family, lol.

  6. meg October 6, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    I made this bread yesterday with the walnuts. I ended up cooking it for 87 minutes total! I probably could have sheared off 5 minutes but I’m a bit paranoid about baked goods since a disastrous incident with making cupcakes. I only had a small slice off the end but it tasted great! I took it over to my family, and my mom texted me today saying everyone loved it! =) I’ll be making another loaf this weekend for my roommates and me, haha. Thanks, and I look forward to trying some more recipes from your blog!

    • Melody M. October 8, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

      Hi Meg,

      I’m so happy that you and your family loved the pumpkin bread so much! And I totally understand about being cautious with the oven! I still watch the oven like a hawk when I’m baking. I go into “high alert” mode haha. Although 87 minutes sounds like a long time, you can never be too careful! “Checking in” on baked goods every 5 to 10 minutes while they’re baking isn’t a bad idea and will save you some time.

      • meg October 8, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

        I think my oven might be weird; I made another loaf today for my household and it was 90 minutes on the button. But hey, I’m not complaining! Thanks again~

      • Melody M. October 9, 2011 at 1:39 am #

        Hmm, maybe something’s up with your oven because that’s a very long time! Did you bake it at 350 Fahrenheit? As long as it turned out tasty, I’m glad! Oh and you’re very welcome! I’m glad you like it! 🙂

  7. Mae October 21, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    I made this and it was delicious!! I’m making it again for a party I’m going to tonight. I cut the sugar down to one cup and thought it was plenty sweet.

Leave a Reply

