Sun-dried Tomato & Lemon Mayo-free Potato Salad

9 Aug

Normally, I would make potato salad with Vegenaise or Mindful Mayo, but I decided to make this one mayo-free for two reasons: first, I have a friend who really hates mayo (vegan and not) and for whom I wanted to provide a simple, delicious, light, mayo-free recipe and secondly, I didn’t want to rely on a processed product to make a great vegan dish. The result is a really savory, beautiful, summery potato salad that can be eaten as a stand alone meal or served as a side dish at your next vegan barbecue.

It so happens that the friend for whom this was intended hates potato salad — even the mayo-free kind. Shucks. Sorry, Jessie! Well, I guess this doesn’t change anything except that she won’t be eating it. That doesn’t stop anyone else, though!

I love this recipe for it’s freshness and ease. By the time I was done chopping the veggies, the potatoes were done. And I love how much all the flavors stood out, but especially the lemon and tomato. I enjoyed this for lunch for several days and it was very filling. Next time, I will remember to share it with others around me and not just eat it all myself!

Ingredients:
(makes about 6 cups)

6 medium potatoes (gold or red)
1 large garlic clove, minced
1/4 cup + 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil, divided
1/2 medium purple onion, chopped
1 cup mushrooms, sliced
1/4 cup parsley, chopped
1 cup sun-dried tomatoes, chopped (the re-hydrated kind, not dried)
Juice of 1 small lemon
1/2 tsp lemon zest
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup fresh basil, chopped
2 tbsp fresh thyme leaves
freshly ground black pepper, to taste

 Directions:

Place the potatoes in a medium pot. Fill with water and bring to a boil. Cook the potatoes until they are tender enough to pierce with a fork, about  30 minutes. Once they are tender, drain the water and let them sit in the pot for about 10 minutes to let them cool and dry. While you wait, heat 1 teaspoon of olive oil in a non-stick pan for 3o seconds. Add the garlic and cook, stirring, for about 1 minute. Remove from heat. Once the potatoes are cooled and dry, cut the potatoes into quarters and then into large bite-sized pieces. Return them to the pot once they are all chopped.

Now add the garlic and remaining ingredients and mix well.

Serve hot or chilled. Garnish with fresh basil leaves if desired.

2 Responses to “Sun-dried Tomato & Lemon Mayo-free Potato Salad”

  1. &rea August 9, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Great post. Have you tried Earth Balance Mayo? That’s my favorite! I use it in my recipe here: http://wp.me/pA0Z1-D

    • Melody M. August 9, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

      Thanks!

      Yes, I have tried Earth Balance’s Mindful Mayo. It’s very good, less expensive, doesn’t contain soy (which is neither good nor bad), and is even a bit “tangy” in flavor. I also like that it’s a bit thicker and more true to its animal derived counterpart than Vegenaise. Although, as a matter of personal taste preference, I still prefer Vegenaise. I won’t mind eating or buying Mindful Mayo though. Thanks for the link to your recipe!

Leave a Reply

