Farfalle with Garlic Cream Sauce

25 Jul

Recently one of my best friends who is working towards veganism (and nearly vegan) asked me to rework one of her favorite restaurant recipes and make it vegan. Obviously, I was happy to help. The recipe she wanted reinvented was The Cheesecake Factory’s “Farfalle with Chicken and Roasted Garlic.” I vaguely remember having had this once, but it was a very long time ago. Instead of looking up what was in the restaurant’s dish, I focused my recipe on her description of what the dish was and what she wanted it to be, and came up with this. From what I can see, it is different from the restaurant version, but just as good, no — better because it’s vegan. I didn’t use any grain meat to substitute for the chicken because I was working with this as if I the restaurant version was already vegan except for the chicken so, I just left it out. I figured my friend, Jessie, orders it without chicken anyway. In retrospect, I’m betting Gardein would be a fantastic addition to this, but it’s already a very complete meal without it so you don’t really need it!

The sauce in this recipe is reminiscent of a very garlicky alfredo, but it isn’t pasty and thick like the terrible kinds you find jarred in grocery store shelves. I didn’t roast the garlic because I wanted this to be a quicker fix kind of meal provided that you’ve already got the cashew cream that is used as the base for the sauce, made. This is a dish you can make, when like my friend, you come home from work tired and want something filling, easy, and yet not the typical weekday dinner to feed your family. So I guess that it’s another good thing that this dish is pretty straightforward, can be made it in 30 minutes, and is every bit as good as the picture suggests!

To Jessie — It was a year ago (almost to the day) that you asked me to chronicle what it is I eat regularly. I started this blog mostly to help you get there. Until I can get to Texas and cook for you, I hope this helps! Stay vegan, girl. If I can do it, so can you!

To everyone else — Enjoy!

Ingredients:
(serves 2)

2 1/2 cups dry farfalle (bow tie) pasta
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, divided
1/4 cup yellow onion, minced
2 to 3 large garlic cloves, finely minced
1/2 cup dry white wine (See Barnivore for vegan wines)
1 cup cashew cream
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1 tbsp nutritional yeast
4 tbsp Earth Balance Butter
6  cremini mushrooms, sliced
1 to 2 cups small broccoli florets (about 1 crown)
3/4 cup fresh or frozen peas
Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Directions:

First boil the pasta and cook until al dente, according to package instructions. When done, drain, but do not rinse the pasta.

Steam the broccoli and peas in a small sauce pan. Remove from heat when done.

Add 1 tablespoon of the olive oil to a nonstick pan and saute the mushrooms on medium high heat. Cook until they begin to exude their juices. Cover in between stirrings to keep them from drying out.

Heat the remaining 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a nonstick saute pan with steep sides on medium heat for about 30 seconds. Add the onions and garlic and stir for about 2 to 3 minutes. Add the wine and cook until it has reduced by half, about 5 minutes. Add the cashew cream, garlic powder, and nutritional yeast, stirring constantly. Add salt and pepper to taste. Remove from heat and stir in the Earth Balance butter 1 tablespoon at a time.

Add the farfalle and the vegetables to the pan with the cream sauce and gently toss over low heat to heat through. Serve immediately.

4 Responses to “Farfalle with Garlic Cream Sauce”

  1. mollylovesbovines July 25, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    Where
    in
    Texas??

    This
    sounds
    YUM!

    • Melody M. July 25, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

      The Colony. About 30 miles north of Dallas, I believe. One day, I’ll get there. And Austin and Houston. And all the Texan vegan restaurants my belly can handle.

  2. greatestwealth July 25, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Mmmmm… Mushrooms and pasta are made for each other.

  3. Nicole July 20, 2013 at 1:06 am #

    Any substitutions for cashew cream? My husband is allergic to nuts but this looks too good to pass up!

Leave a Reply

