Absurdly Easy Tempeh “Tuna” Salad

29 Jun

As promised, here’s another salad sandwich recipe just in time for beach season here in New England or for lunch wherever you are. This recipe is so simple and easy, it only has two directions! I was going to use tofu or mashed chickpeas instead of tempeh, which seems to be a more traditional way of making vegan tuna, but tempeh once crumbled really does seem to have a similar texture to canned tuna. It is also a wonderful source of protein — the highest in a vegan diet per serving — and an invaluable resource to vegan cuisine because like tofu, it is a versatile “stand in” and it takes up flavor phenomenally!

In any case, if you prefer to use mashed chickpeas or tofu, you can. I am seriously in love with how easy and delicious this recipe is. Tuna sandwiches were my favorite when I was growing up, but this just hits the spot better than any fish could. I honestly feel like I just want a child to feed this to. So if you have kids who’ll like this, please feed it to them and tell me about their smiles because I need to live vicariously through you. I hope you’ll enjoy it too!

Ingredients:

8oz tempeh
2 – 3 tbsp Vegenaise
1/2 cup celery, chopped
2 scallions, chopped
2 tsp dill, chopped
2 tbsp onion, chopped (optional)
1/2 tsp nutritional yeast (optional)
1/2 tsp salt
freshly ground black pepper, to taste

Directions:

Crumble the tempeh in a medium sized bowl. Add the remaining ingredients and combine well. Chill. Serve in a sandwich or as a cracker condiment! Enjoy!

Great for crackers!

Delicious Lunch: Tempeh "tuna" with spinach, broccoli sprouts, and tomato. Yum!

Tip: Don't get rid of those scallion ends. Put them in a jar with water and watch them grow again! Just rinse the ends and change the water every day. You can re-grow them at home up to two times!

13 Responses to “Absurdly Easy Tempeh “Tuna” Salad”

  1. Abby Bean June 29, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I never thought of eating tempeh without cooking it first!

    • Melody M. June 29, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

      Yeah, me neither until I thought to make this! It’s very good raw as long as it’s seasoned/dressed well. Many people claim that it’s also good to eat it raw because of the live active cultures used to make it so, the idea is that it is good for your digestive system to eat it raw — kind of like yogurt. I’m not sure if there’s any scientific evidence to back that up, but it definitely sounds probable.

  2. Jenn June 29, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    This was absolutely delicious! This is by far the most easiest meal I’ve ever made. This was my first time eating tempeh and I love it. I toasted Ezekiel bread and put this on top with lettuce and tomato. I couldn’t get enough of it, so I used crackers and put the left overs on it. It went very fast.

    • Melody M. June 29, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      Thanks, Jenn! I’m so glad you liked it so much! And I’m glad I was able to introduce you to tempeh. It’s so versatile and healthy! I’ll be using it again soon so be on the lookout for it! 🙂

  3. Kathee July 24, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    This was phenomenal! I’d never used tempeh before and it was so easy to make. I put fresh dill in it and walking onions and chives from my garden, dressed with a ripe tomato and some fresh spinach on a whole grain bread–there is nothing like it! Even my non vegan friends loved it! A great no-cook recipe to beat the summer heat!

    -Catherine

    • Melody M. July 25, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      Thank you so much for the compliments! I’m glad you and your friends enjoyed it! Fresh garden veggies and herbs sound like the perfect addition!

  4. greatestwealth July 25, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    Not a big fan of tempeh, but I’m getting there. Definitely going to try this recipe out!

    • Melody M. July 25, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

      I think you should! I was never a big fan of tempeh either. Eventually, I came around and this is now my very favorite way to have it! I hope you like it!

  5. Elizabeth Hardy August 10, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    nom nom nom 🙂

    • Melody M. August 10, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

      Elizabeth, I hope this means you tried it and liked it! 🙂

  6. Nova February 25, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Made this with 2/3 of a very ripe avocado instead of veganase. Still delicious! Thanks for the recipe, Melody!

    • Melody M. February 26, 2012 at 10:26 am #

      You’re welcome, Nova! That sounds like an absolutely delicious substitution! I’m going to try it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegan Restaurant Travel Series: NYC « Little House On The Vegan Prairie - April 26, 2012

    […] a picture of our rendezvous in the park, but Brad made a delicious pasta salad and I whipped up my Absurdly Easy Tempeh Tuna Salad sandwiches which were a big hit! At this point, Brad and I were so beyond full, we couldn’t […]

Leave a Reply

